Wallkill. The Monroe Woodbury 9-11 Little League baseball team defeats Cornwall to capture the District 19 flag

Monroe /
| 07 Jul 2021 | 11:55

The Monroe Woodbury 9-11 Little League baseball team had a successful district tournament, going 3-0 to claim the District 19 championship flag.

The 2020 Little League season was lost for these boys so 2021 was a return to action for these young athletes. The MWLL 9-11U District All-Star team was made up of players that competed in the MWLL spring season majors division.

The team led off the tournament with an exciting 11-7 win over Cornwall Little League. The players followed that up with a strong win over the Town of Newburgh/New Winsor Little team.

The District flag game was played in the Town of Wallkill against Cornwall with great fan support from the MW community.

Cornwall came out strong, taking an early 2-0 lead and led 3-2 heading into the bottom of the third. MWLL scored one run in the first inning and then one in the second when Evan Mejia walked followed by a great bunt single by Jake Bond and a hard groundball to drive the team’s second run home.

The MWLL team put two more runs on the board in the bottom of the third to take a 5-3 lead with big hits from Mike Zymberi, Aaron Drucker, Cole Engel, Connor McHale, Brandon Schwarz and Drew Lugo.

Kyle Lascano and Brian Sorce contributed to the win with strong defensive play.

On the mound, Michael Monda started the game, pitched five innings with eight strikeouts and got the win for MW. Joey Bauer closed the game with a strong inning on the mound, striking out two, and was also a big contributor with the bat ,driving in three runs in the game.

After a year without Little League baseball, it was exciting to see all the players across District 19 back out in the field competing in both Little League regular season play and in the district tournament.

MWLL 11U District Champions are, from left to right, beginning in the back row: Coach Bauer, Mike Zymberi, Coach Bond and Coach Monda; middle row, from left: Cole Engel, Connor McHale, Brian Sorce, Evan Mejia, Joey Bauer and Kyle Lascano; and in front: Brandon Schwarz, Aaron Drucker, Michael Monda, Drew Lugo and Jake Bond.