Monroe. Graduating Girl Scouts honored at annual M-W Service Unit recognition gathering

Monroe /
| 23 Jun 2021 | 12:14

The Monroe-Woodbury Girl Scout Service Unit recently honored graduating Girl Scouts who are Gold Award recipients, scholarship recipients and the young women who completed 13 years of the Girl Scout Program during its Annual Leader/Recognition Dinner at Tequila Grille in Monroe.

“These 21 young women represent all that is good about the Monroe-Woodbury Girl Scout Service Unit,” said Barbara Mallory, volunteer service unit manager. “Since Kindergarten, as the littlest Girl Scout Daisies, they took part in programs that taught them about character development, leadership and giving back to their community through many programs and service opportunities. Plus, they had a lot of fun doing all the things that girls like to do when they get together. Now, as Ambassador Girl Scouts, who are moving on to their next phase in lives, we are confident they will take all they learned to continue to lead and help others. We know we’ll hear great things about them in the coming years.”

Gold Award

Recognized for completing their Gold Award, the highest national award a Girl Scout can achieve, were:

Rebecca Pomerantz, who graduated in 2020, for her project, “Rescued and Loved.”

Chole Saldanha, for her project, “Info on Alexa.”

Isabel Woods, for her project, “Stretch the Trails.”

Nora Jean Fields Scholarships

Seven Ambassador Girl Scouts were awarded the Nora Jean Fields Scholarship, in recognition of their Girl Scout accomplishments, and in memory of long-time Girl Scout supporter Nora Jean Fields. They are:

Madelyn Bascardi

Meghan Jezik

Carleigh Newman

Chole Saldanha

Gabrielle Schnaars

Molly Schiller

Isabel Woods

Class of 2021

Members of the Class of 2021, who are now also Girl Scout program graduates, are:

Troop 108

Khushi Prabhakar

Jessica Kiesel

Troop 188

Elizabeth Giocomazza

Troop 214

Tori Bennett

Brooke Gellert

Sarah Joseph

Kate Iannuzzo

Gillian Kimball

Catherine Medrick

Isabella Signore

Troop 301

Molly Schiller

Troop 388

Allison Ampel

Meghan Jezik

Gabrielle Schnaars

Troop 640

Madelyn Bascardi

Carleigh Newman

Brooke Pearson

Chloe Saldanha

Amelia Wasto

Isabelle Woods

- Nancy Kriz