Village election results

| 22 Feb 2012 | 05:10

    Here are the results of Tuesday’s village elections in Harriman, Monroe and Woodbury: Harriman Voters in the Village of Harriman stayed with the incumbents. Stephen Welle won a fourth term as mayor, defeating Robert Caterino by a vote of 173 to 67. Voters returned two trustees for another term of office: Incumbents Christine Sacher, with 145 votes, and Lawrence Mosca, with 120 votes, turned aside challenges from three other candidate: Chamarajanagar Shashykumar, with 85 votes, Gene Santiago, with 66 votes, and Ronald Klare, with 51 votes. “It was a steady turnout,” according to Village Clerk Evelyn Nazzaro. Monroe Monroe’s lone candidate, incumbent trustee Frank Eppinger, received 51 votes, including six absentee ballots. Eppinger will be completing the last year of Mayor James Purcell’s term as a member of the Village Board. There are 4,762 registered voters, according to Monroe’s Village Clerk Virginia Carey. Woodbury In addition to uncontested races for mayor and two trustee positions, voters in the Village of Woodbury faced three propositions: Residents approved a measure to have their elections take place on the third Tuesday in June, starting in 2012, by a vote of 214 to 152. Village elections have been held in March since the village was created a half dozen years ago. However, they turned aside propositions that would have increased the terms of office for mayor and trustee from two to four years. The proposition to increase the mayor’s term was defeated by a vote of 140 in favor and 227 against. Similarly, the vote on the extending the trustee’s term of office fell by a vote of 128 to 230. Woodbury’s Mayor Michael F. Queenan, who ran unopposed, received 288 votes. The Trustees, Timothy P. Egan and Thomas G. Flood, also unopposed, received 292 and 294 votes respectively.