Women of distinction
GOSHEN. Assemblyman Schmitt recognizes the contributions 16 women make within their communities

Provided photos Assemblyman Colin Schmitt recognized Dorothy Morris as one of 16 Women of Distinction within the 99th Assembly District during ceremonies last week. Morris was nominated by the Town of Woodbury.

Assemblyman Colin Schmitt held his inaugural 99th Assembly District Women of Distinction event on Thursday, May 9, at the Orange County Emergency Services Center, honoring 16 women from throughout the district and presenting each with an Assembly citation recognizing their contributions to their communities.
This official State Assembly government event was created to recognize women from across the Assembly District who have made significant contributions to their communities and the 99th Assembly District.
The Women of Distinction honorees are:
Town of Blooming Grove: Johanna Kiernan
Village of South Blooming Grove: Sonia Ayala
Village of Washingtonville: Linda Standish
Town/Village of Chester: Betty Ann Reilly
Town of Cornwall: Elizabeth “Betty” Longinott
Town of Goshen: Michelle P. Figliomeni, PhD.
Village of Goshen: Molly O’Donnell
Town of Hamptonburgh: Vera Green Dixon
Town of Highlands: Juanita King
Village of Highland Falls: Snowdrop Smith
Town of New Windsor: Patricia Mullarkey
Town of Stony Point: June Jobson
Town of Wawayanda: Barbara Parson
Town of Woodbury: Dorothy Morris
Village of Harriman: Irma Excallier
SUNY Orange: Elizabeth Tarvin
“These women are the pillars of our district and are greatly deserving of recognition,” Schmitt said in the press release announcing the awards. “ I thank them for all that they have done and continue to do for the betterment of our district. We are blessed to have such amazing leaders and role models live and serve in our local communities.”
The 99th Assembly District includes to the Town of Stony Point in Rockland and the towns of Wawayanda, Goshen, Hamptonburgh, Chester, Blooming Grove, New Windsor, Cornwall, Highlands and Woodbury.