Heritage Trail expands two miles from Monroe to Harriman

This O.C. linear park now runs 14.5 miles and already attracts 150,000 walkers, runners and bicyclists each year

Make text smaller Make text larger


  • Provided photo Front row, from left to right, are: Village of Monroe Mayor James Purcell, Orange County Executive Steven M. Neuhaus, Department of Public Works Commissioner Chris Viebrock, Legislator Jim DiSalvo, Legislator Myrna Kemnitz and Deputy Commissioner of Parks and Recreation Mike Amodio; and in back from left to right are: Village of Harriman Mayor Steve Welle, Village of Monroe DPW Supervisor Jim Linderman and Monroe Town Councilman Tony Cardone.

— Orange County Executive Steven M. Neuhaus participated in a ceremonial ribbon-cutting last Friday to celebrate the extension of the Heritage Trail from the Village of Monroe into Harriman.

Neuhaus was joined at the event by Orange County Legislators Jim DiSalvo and Myrna Kemnitz, Village of Harriman Mayor Stephen H. Welle, Monroe Town Councilman Tony Cardone, Village of Monroe Mayor James Purcell and Department of Public Works Commissioner Chris Viebrock.

“The Heritage Trail is one of the most popular recreation destinations in the county," Neuhaus said. "I live near the trail and enjoy utilizing it with my family and having the opportunity to interact with residents who take advantage of using this wonderful space in our county.”

From Clark Street to River RoadThe Heritage Trail is a 10-foot wide trail on the right-of-way of the former Erie Railroad and features sections of both asphalt and limestone surface

The Heritage Trail was extended from the Village of Monroe at Clark Street to River Road in the Village of Harriman, adding approximately two miles.

Funding for the $375,000 project came from a County Capital Project Budget.

"On behalf of our residents, we appreciate that local families will be able to take advantage of this county gem," Welle said.

The Heritage Trail now runs approximately 14.5 miles from Goshen to Harriman with approximately 150,000 people using it each year for running, biking, hiking and environmental and natural studies.

It has access points in Monroe, Chester and Goshen. The trail features historic landmarks, scenic views, a bird/wildlife sanctuary and access to dining and shopping in the municipalities through which it runs.

Added DiSalvo: “The Heritage Trail is a great economic engine for Orange County and enjoyed by so many residents.”

Future extensions of the Heritage Trail include up to an additional 10 miles of paved trail from Goshen to Middletown. The construction is anticipated to begin in 2018.

Make text smaller Make text larger


Pool Rules


Image MS-13 gang member charged with stabbing two people in Monroe
By Bob Quinn
— Monroe Village Police have charged a self-proclaimed MS-13 gang member with stabbing two people outside a gas...
Image The Loyalist
In the middle of the night of May 21, 1780, with the American Revolutionary War in its sixth bloody year, there came a loud rapping at the old Sussex County Courthouse door,...
Image 'Art is a voice' to recall a long-ago tragedy
By Geri Corey
— Artist Karen E. Gersch has a personal connection with the September 11, 2001, tragedy that struck the Twin...
Image Separation update
By Bob Quinn
— The Town of Monroe is expected to host two public information forums in October to provide information on the...


Sign up to get our newsletter emailed to you every week!

  • Enter your email address in the box below.
  • Select the newsletters you would like to subscribe to.
  • Click the 'SUBSCRIBE' button.


Weather in Monroe, NY